Hi everyone. Having been in the publishing industry since 2005, one thing I now know is that there are a lot of gray areas, and some of them are good gray areas when it comes to editing, that is copyediting, per se. This could range from issues faced daily such as “that” vs. “which” to those split times when you finally decide to query the author rather than take the risk of making a change yourself only to find later that you had a different interpretation of the context, to those once-in-a-month terrible permissions correspondence when you have to not only ask the typesetter to insert umpteen clauses at an equal number of places and flag the publisher for the same, but also run around websites, send emails to other contributors too (after finding them!), and in short spend three hours of your time in which you could have edited thirty pages, maybe!

I would like to share my experience, both past and current, so that copyeditors (I prefer this as one word!) elsewhere in the world may not have a hard time. And I get an unwarranted blessing from someone I don’t even know.

I now work as a self-employed professional, i.e. on a freelance basis. In the past seven years I have worked for several international publishers, including Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, Sage, Oxford University Press, Palgrave Macmillan and Intellect. If you have any business queries, please feel free to contact me at av (dot) ankur (at) yahoo (dot) com. You may also request some of my previous editing samples and work at the same address.

Note: The picture on the front page is cropped from”The Cellist”, by Robert Doisneau, 1957, © Estate of Robert Doisneau.

